Teen Wolf recap – Season 1, Episode 11: Formality

For more Teen Wolf recaps, click here.

Night. Allison drives through the pouring rain while having flashbacks of Kate electrocuting Derek over and over again while explaining about werewolves and being a WEREWOLF HUNTER.

ALLISON: Is this a joke to you?

KATE: Sweetheart, there are werewolves running around in the world. Everything’s a joke to me. How else do you think I stay sane?

I actually did not think you stayed sane, Kate. At all.

I actually did not think you stayed sane, Kate. At all.

Kate warns Allison about the second Beta and the Alpha. She also tells Allison that ‘they’ (maybe Allison’s parents, maybe the other WEREWOLF HUNTERS in general) haven’t decided whether they’re going to tell Allison about all of this yet. Kate makes her own rules. YOLO.

ALLISON: What am I supposed to do now?

KATE: Go to school, do your homework, go to the formal on Friday night. Be a normal teenage girl who doesn’t know anything. Trust me to get everything ready for the next part.

ALLISON: What’s the next part?

KATE: You’re going to help me catch the second Beta.

Allison is pulled over for speeding by the Sheriff. She starts crying and Sheriff, being adorable, is going to let her off for going 75 in a 25 zone. Allison demands that he write her a ticket because she’s not like this.

Allison goes into a back alley and fires arrows at a Wanted poster with a drawing of Derek Hale.

Look at that. You killed the piece of paper.

Look at that. You killed the piece of paper.

TITLE SHOT

Scott wakes up at the animal clinic, still SHIRTLESS. Peter Hale walks into the reception to be sassy and rude. Deaton goes out to speak to him and is equally sassy and he has a wicked goatee … and also some kind of magic mountain ash that means that Peter can’t wolf out.

This animal clinic ain't big enough for two sassy men.

This animal clinic ain’t big enough for two sassy men.

Peter throws a table at Deaton. Deaton doesn’t even blink. Deaton is a badass. Deaton is best.

Peter goes to walk out and whispers some more creepy threats (this time directed at Allison) that Scott can hear while he’s hiding in the back room.

Back at home, Scott looks for his phone while Stiles shoots down the plan to ask Derek for help on the basis that Derek, once again, sounds pretty dead.  Scott points out that the Argents need Derek to find the Alpha so they’re not going to kill him. Which I guess means they’ve decided Derek has found out the Alpha’s identity since his last talk with Kate or that Kate just conveniently forgot that Derek was clueless so she could torture him some more.

Stiles thinks Scott lost his phone while he was fighting Derek.

STILES: Do you remember that? When he was trying to kill you? After you interrupted him trying to kill Jackson? Are you starting to see a pattern of violent behaviour here?

SCOTT: He wasn’t going to kill anyone and I’m not letting him die.

STILES: Could you at least think about letting him die? For me?

Scott hears Mama McCall drive up outside and leave an awkward voicemail for Peter, asking if they can reschedule their date.

Mama McCall, where is your side mirror?

Mama McCall, where is your side mirror?

STILES: Is she okay? What’s she doing?

SCOTT: Crying.

Scott’s I-can’t-believe-you-hurt-my-mum face is heartbreaking.

Back in the creepy basement, Kate rifles through SHIRTLESS Derek’s possessions and tries to work out who the Alpha is. She brings up the hot, crazy sex they had at some point in the past and then licks his torso because she’s creepy but also because he’s got a really nice torso. Then she brings in some kind of torturing pro to work his magic on Derek.

Untie me and try licking my stomach again. I dare you.

Untie me and try licking my stomach again. I dare you.

Allison tosses and turns in bed while Scott channels Edward Cullen and sits outside on her roof, watching over her. Or that’s what he would be doing if he could keep his eyes open. But he can’t so he falls asleep and falls right off the roof.

It's past your bedtime, young man.

It’s past your bedtime, young man.

At school the next day, while many SHIRTLESS young males are walking around the locker rooms, Coach tells Scott that he can’t go to the winter formal because he’s failing three classes.

COACH: They told me to cut you from the team. I told them I’d sooner cut off my last remaining testicle than cut my best player.

SCOTT: So the compromise is I can’t go to the formal?

COACH: Yeah.

SCOTT: Then I quit the team.

COACH: No, you don’t. And if you show up at the dance and I see you there, I’m going to drag you out by your teeth.

You don't quit the lacrosse team. The lacrosse team quits you.

You don’t quit the lacrosse team. The lacrosse team quits you.

Scott tries to bully Jackson into going to the formal with Allison so that he knows someone’s keeping an eye on her. Jackson isn’t interested, saying it’s not worth it if he might get hurt.

You should probably stop forgetting that I'm about 50 times stronger than you are, Jackson.

You should probably stop forgetting that I’m about 50 times stronger than you are, Jackson.

He tries to walk away and Scott decides to put his super strength and wolf eyeballs to good use by scaring the crap out of Jackson. Jackson changes his tune and goes to check what time he should pick Allison up for the dance.

Despite being banned, Scott is still planning to go.

STILES: So you’re going to ride your bike to a dance that you’re not even allowed to go to without a date, a suit, or a way in with werewolves and WEREWOLF HUNTERS all out to kick your little werewolf ass.

SCOTT: Yeah. You gonna help me?

STILES: Hell yeah.

At Macy’s, Lydia is going to buy Allison a dress as an apology for making out with Scott. Allison extends the apology to include Lydia going to the formal with Stiles.

This is what you give me to work with? Well, honey, I’ve seen worse.

Lydia loads Stiles up with dresses for her to try on. Allison is still looking at dresses when Peter rocks up to give her some fabulous fashion advice and comment on her skin tone. Do you have no other lines, Peter? Can you only comment on people’s skin? He picks out a dress for her and continues creeping her out.

I never look back, darling. It distracts from the now.

I never look back, darling. It distracts from the now.

A call comes over the speaker and, recognising the description, Allison runs out to stop her car from being towed.

Peter talks to thin air again, addressing Scott and complimenting his tactic to get Allison away from Peter. You have werewolf senses, bud. Just sniff him out and have a conversation face to face.

It seems Chris isn’t up to speed on Kate’s creepy torture chamber because he keeps leaving messages for her. Kate tells Derek she’ll have to kill him if he won’t help but, before doing that, she has to do her evil villain monologue about how she set the fire.

Can't kill him yet. I don't have all the context clues.

Can’t kill him yet. I don’t have all the context clues.

KATE: It’s not all your fault. You got tricked by a pretty face. It happens. Handsome young werewolf mistakenly falls in love with a super-hot girl who comes from a family that kills werewolves. Is that ironic? Is it ironic that you are inadvertently helping me take down the rest of the pack again? Or just a little bit of history repeating?

Kate has monologued herself into the final context clue.

KATE: History repeating. It’s not Jackson, is it? Oh, no, no, no. He’s got a little scratch on the back of his neck but he’s not in love with Allison. Not like Scott.

It took you THIS LONG to put together that context clue? Your idiocy offends me.

It took you THIS LONG to put together that context clue? Your idiocy offends me.

Congratu-fucking-lations, Kate.

Scott has bought a dodgy second-hand suit with rips all over it. Mama McCall the fairy godmother helps him patch it up and uses her sewing time to make Scott tell her how much he loves Allison.

MAMA McCALL: Have you told her how you feel?

SCOTT: She knows.

She hits him.

MAMA McCALL: Come on. ‘She knows.’ ‘She knows’? Listen, dumbass. I’m going to let you in on a secret that most guys don’t even have a clue about. Right? You ready? Women love words.

SCOTT: Huh?

Bibbidi-Bobbidi-back the fuck up and tell Allison you love her already. I'm not sewing your clothes for nothing.

Bibbidi-bobbidi-back the fuck up and tell Allison you love her already. I’m not sewing your clothes for nothing.

Mama McCall gives him some advice about how to tell Allison and, satisfied with the results of her one-on-one time, finishes mending Scott’s rip and lets him leave.

At the formal, Jackson drives up with Allison in his fancy car and cements himself as a solid candidate for date of the decade by taking a swig from a bottle of alcohol and saying that he wants to forget all of tonight. Champion.

Allison sees Scott running along the top of the roof and figures that maybe if Jackson gets drunk she can push him off a cliff and just go up on the roof with Scott.

I mean, I think it's pretty clear what she's thinking.

I mean, I think it’s pretty clear what she’s thinking.

Stiles drives up in his Jeep with Lydia. Jackson and Allison walk past on their way in to the dance.

LYDIA: Jackson. You look handsome.

JACKSON: Obviously. It’s Hugo Boss.

Is that stick up your arse Hugo Boss too?

Is that stick up your arse Hugo Boss too?

LYDIA: I don’t care. I don’t want compliments. I will not fall prey to society’s desire to turn girls into emotionally insecure neurotics who pull up their dresses at the first flattering remark.

STILES: Well, I think you look beautiful.

LYDIA: Really?

She’s much happier to take Stiles’s arm now.

Scott hides near the bleachers in the gym, watching as Jackson offers alcohol to Danny and other unnamed males, Coach shakes his head at youths and Peter Hale stands in the middle of the gym looking like a predator.

I don't look at all weird or out of place right now.

I don’t look at all weird or out of place right now.

When Scott looks back, Peter’s gone.

Stiles and Lydia sit in silence at their table. Now that Jackson is actually at the dance with Allison, he’s no longer an outrageous flirt and is back to being a lil’ bitch. But he does agree to dance and leads Allison out so that they’re dancing right in front of Lydia and Stiles.

STILES: Do you want to dance?

LYDIA: Pass.

STILES: You know what, I’m going to try that again. Lydia, get off your cute little ass and dance with me now.

LYDIA: Interesting tactic. I’m going to stick with ‘no’.

STILES: Lydia, get up! Okay? You’re going to dance with me. I don’t care that you made out with my best friend for some weird power thing. I don’t – Lydia, I’ve had a crush on you since the third grade and I know that somewhere inside that cold, lifeless exterior there’s an actual human soul. And I’m also pretty sure that I’m the only one who knows how smart you really are. And that, once you’re done pretending to be a nitwit, you’ll eventually go off and write some insane mathematical theorem that wins you the Nobel Prize.

LYDIA: The Fields Medal.

STILES: What?

LYDIA: Nobel doesn’t have a prize for mathematics. The Fields Medal is the one I’ll be winning.

Oh, screw beautiful. I'm brilliant. If you want to appease me, compliment my brain.

Oh, screw beautiful. I’m brilliant. If you want to appease me, compliment my brain.

She pulls him on to the dance floor.

Coach sees Scott in the bleachers and runs after him. Scott runs to Danny and begs him to dance. Coach finally gets there and starts yelling. The whole gym stops to stare, thinking that Coach is getting mad at two boys for dancing with each other. Beacon Hills High School is ground zero for acceptance and no one is having this shit. Coach has to back away and leave Scott alone.

Take your alleged homophobia elsewhere.

Take your alleged homophobia elsewhere.

Scott thanks Danny and goes to dance with Allison.

Jackson drunkenly staggers out of the gym and sees a pair of red eyes gleaming in the woods.

Back in the gym, Stiles and Lydia are slow-dancing the night away. Lydia is distracted because she’s lost sight of Jackson. Stiles goes to help her find him.

Jackson is stumbling through the woods and praying to an Alpha god to bite him.

DO YOU WANNA BUILD A SNOWMAN?

DO YOU WANNA BUILD A SNOWMAN?

Turns out the Alpha eyes were really just some red lasers being operated by Chris and another WEREWOLF HUNTER.

CHRIS: Unfortunately, Jackson, I don’t think I can give you what you want. But I have a feeling you might be able to help me.

Scott and Allison dance and are disgustingly in love. Scott wants to tell her about being a werewolf but she has since found out that she’s a WEREWOLF HUNTER so she’s freaking out.

Scott, I just found out my family is a bunch of WEREWOLF HUNTERS. Let's just dance.

Scott, I just found out my family is a bunch of WEREWOLF HUNTERS. Let’s just dance.

Chris walks Jackson back to the dance. It seems Jackson, being a little BITCH, has told him about Scott being the second Beta. Chris says he won’t hurt him.  He’s just a kid; Chris will take care of him. I don’t belieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeve you.

Scott and Allison’s intimate talk is interrupted because suddenly the music is faster and how could you talk when you should be DANCING. Scott kisses her.

ALLISON: Why did you do that?

SCOTT: Because I love you.

Allison kisses him and they realise they can ignore the upbeat music and do what they want.

Stiles walks out of the gym and sees Jackson on his way back in. Stiles asks if Lydia ever found him and Jackson comes clean about telling the WEREWOLF HUNTERS about Scott.

I definitely did not NOT tell them about Scott being the second Beta and that he's here right now. Why would you suggest such a thing?

I definitely did not NOT tell them about Scott being the second Beta and that he’s here right now. Yeah. I didn’t NOT tell them.

Lydia has for some reason wandered all the way over to the lacrosse fields to look for Jackson. As she stands on the field, the lights start coming on, partially blinding her. Stiles runs towards her, screaming for her to run.

Never go to a lacrosse field alone at night.

Never go to a lacrosse field alone at night.

Lydia turns around in time to see Peter Hale’s wolfy teeth before he BITES HER.

Peter's a messy eater.

Peter’s a messy eater.

Stiles begs Peter not to kill her.

PETER: Of course not. Just tell me how to find Derek.

Stiles says he doesn’t know how to find Derek and Peter wolf-roars at him.

Let's just talk about how brave/in love with Lydia Stiles must be to be this close to a psychotic Alpha werewolf and not wetting his pants.

Let’s just talk about how brave/in love with Lydia Stiles must be to be this close to a psychotic Alpha werewolf and not wetting his pants.

Stiles reveals his theory that Derek knew he was going to be taken by the Argents when he and Scott were being shot at and he took Scott’s phone to make sure that he could be located by phone’s GPS.

Allison and Scott kiss and run out of the gym towards the school buses, weirdly mirroring his dream from episode 3. Allison hops on the bus and Scott hesitates, thinking they should get back to the dance.

Come on, Scott. Buses. So sexy.

Come on, Scott. Buses. So sexy.

Allison kisses the window of the bus and probably immediately contracts some sort of disease. Scott doesn’t seem to mind the idea of her kissing dirty public buses and is about to join her when a bunch of WEREWOLF HUNTER cars show up, cornering him.

The WEREWOLF HUNTERS drive towards him from either side, forcing Scott to parkour onto their hoods.

I hope he didn't rip the seam in his pants again.

I hope he didn’t rip the seam in his pants again.

As he looks up, Allison sees his fully wolfed-out face and he stares at her creepily.

But I like my men clean-shaven!

But I like my men clean-shaven!

END OF EPISODE

3 thoughts on “Teen Wolf recap – Season 1, Episode 11: Formality

  1. Thanks for every other informative site. Where else may I get that kind of info written in such an ideal approach?
    I have a project that I’m simply now working on, and I’ve been on the look out
    for such info.

Leave a Reply

