Book Photo Challenge Day Day 24 - The sky/hooked me in to reading

For my last break of the day, I popped downstairs to try and get a glimpse of the sunset.

For most of my childhood, my family moved around with my dad’s job. We lived in Papua New Guinea, then Fiji, then the Solomon Islands. There wasn’t a lot to do so I learned how to entertain myself.

In 2000, a coup started in the Solomon Islands and the ex-pat women and children were evacuated by the HMAS Tobruk. All the men, including my dad, had to stay behind.

For five days, we hung out on the Tobruk with nothing to do except draw on unused sick bags and read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone over and over again; it was the one book my sister had grabbed as we were heading out the door.

It was a pretty scary time, especially knowing that my dad was still stuck in a country that was at war. But when I lost myself in reading I wasn’t so scared anymore. That’s also when I decided I wanted to write. I wanted to make a world that someone could get lost in; somewhere they could go to escape the real world just for a little while.

Read more about my June Book Photo Challenge here.

Book Photo Challenge Day 24 – The sky/hooked me in to reading

One thought on “Book Photo Challenge Day 24 – The sky/hooked me in to reading

Leave a Reply

