Flashback to graduation

On 18 July 2013, exactly one year ago today, I graduated from university with a Master of Arts in Writing, Editing, and Publishing. I was proud of my grades and glad to have learned so much in the 18 months of my postgrad. But mostly I was ecstatic that my graduation stole (the coloured sash thingie) was Ravenclaw blue.

SarahGrad066

So I went with it.

SarahGrad131

Like, really went with it.

SarahGrad140

Tried out some magic.

SarahGrad143

And may have broken the International Statute of Wizarding Secrecy.

SarahGrad144

For a while there, I had my brother convinced that he would have to call me ‘Master’ after I graduated. My graduation present from my family was even better. They bought me a square foot of land in Glencoe Wood, Scotland to be enjoyed by me and my heirs in perpetuity.

glencoe

And you know what else that letter says?

You may also wish to know that by ancient tradition, the ownership of land in Scotland allows you to style yourself with the title Lord (Laird) or Lady.

That’s RIGHT. I am Lady Sarah of Glencoe or, for more formal occasions, The Much Honoured Sarah Taviani, Lady of Glencoe. BOW DOWN. (I’m mostly kidding. Bowing is optional but appreciated.)

One thought on “Flashback to graduation

Leave a Reply

