PAINT THE TOWN READ: Preparing for New York

Less than a week to go until I board a plane to the US. I went out on the weekend and bought a Kindle Paperwhite to cut down on the amount of books I have to cart around. Mostly I’ve been downloading every free book I can get my hands on but I have made one actual purchase. My friend Elke recommended Percy Jackson & the Olympians and, after reading and liking a sample, I bought the whole series (five books) for $26.13. Less than $5.30 per book? OKAY.

new yorkSo here’s my Paint the Town Read pile for New York:

  • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  • Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
  • Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
  • The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Three of the four have been adapted for screen and (quality of some of the adaptations aside), I’m excited to see some of the filming locations. I found this awesome website called On the Set of New York which lists exact locations with screencaps and photos. That’s going to be a big help.

There are so many exciting things based in New York but these were the ones I had in my bookshelves. I think I might even have my sister’s copy of Sex and the City lying around somewhere. If I can find that, I’ll probably add that to my pile.

Do you know of any awesome books/film adaptations set in New York? Let me know if you have any suggestions in the comments below.

I’ll be Instagramming while I’m overseas, using the tag #caapaintthetownread.

Leave a Reply

