Express yourselfie!

This year, the Brisbane Writers Festival was running an Instagram competition to find the most creative Festival selfie. To enter, all you had to do was use the hashtag #bwf14selfie.

IMG_4357I remembered the competition on the Saturday of BWF and got to work. My theme was ‘gotta catch ’em all’ so I was posing for selfies with authors and an old toy Pokéball.

You can see the rest of my selfies in the BWF posts for Saturday and Sunday. I got photos with K.A. Barker (The Book of Days), Amie Kaufman (These Broken Stars), Laini Taylor (Daughter of Smoke and Bone), and Lauren Beukes (Broken Monsters).

IMG_4611The winner was announced the Wednesday after the competition and IT WAS ME!

The last time I won something by chance was back in fifth grade when our class did a lucky dip for the Melbourne Cup. I happened to pick out the right horse’s name and got an awesome lolly bag. The glow of that win has kept me going since 2001.

goody bagI eagerly awaited delivery of my goody bag of prizes from the moment I got a confirmation email. It finally arrived on Monday morning, containing tickets for an event on Monday night.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t go to the event because I wound up leaving work early with what turned out to be VIRAL LARYNGITIS (such awesome timing). But apparently there will be a few events coming up after I get back from America, and BWF has kindly said that I can swap my tickets for something later in the year.

I had so much fun at the Brisbane Writers Festival and can’t wait to see what they have in store for 2015.

 

Leave a Reply

