PAINT THE TOWN READ: Divergent at Navy Pier in Chicago, Illinois

IMG_4848

‘A strip of land juts out into the marsh, and rising from it is a giant white wheel with dozens of red passenger cars dangling from it at regular intervals. The Ferris wheel.’

IMG_4969 These days, Lake Michigan is thriving and there’s no marshland in sight. It was a beautiful day at Navy Pier and even with the renovations going on, there was plenty to see and do.

Before planning this trip and researching all the things I wanted to do, I had very little knowledge about Chicago. Well, about most places in America, really. I knew what I’d seen in movies and read in books but I kind of assumed that it was fabricated or adjusted in some way. The fact that Divergent is jam-packed with real Chicago locations that you can visit still astounds me.

The first time I read Divergent, I assumed that the Ferris wheel was completely made up. Now, not only do I know that it’s real, I’ve been there and seen it firsthand. I love travelling. The world continues to amaze me.

IMG_4970You can see more Paint the Town Read posts as they’re uploaded on my Instagram account with the hashtag #caapaintthetownread.

Leave a Reply

