PAINT THE TOWN READ: Little Women at Orchard House in Concord, Massachusetts

IMG_4900

It was a 45-minute train journey from Boston to Concord. Honestly, if the only thing we’d done there was visit Orchard House, it would have been worth it.

IMG_5075Orchard House is where the Alcott family lived, and where Louisa May Alcott wrote Little Women. The house is wonderfully preserved, with many original furnishings. The guides were kind and very well informed about the entire Alcott family and their history.

As a rule, you can’t take any photos or video while on the tour. However, after explaining my Paint the Town Read project to our guide, Susan, I was allowed back to Louisa’s room so that I could take the top photo near the little writing desk where she penned Little Women. I felt so honoured and was so thankful that I nearly cried.

I had another edition of Little Women all lined up for the picture but I wanted to show you guys the beautiful Word Cloud edition I purchased at the Orchard House gift shop.

IMG_5076You can see more Paint the Town Read posts as they’re uploaded on my Instagram account with the hashtag #caapaintthetownread.

2 thoughts on “PAINT THE TOWN READ: Little Women at Orchard House in Concord, Massachusetts

  1. OMG! how i wish to be at the orchard house. i really love louisa may alcott book little women. i even imagine to sit where she actually wrote that book. thank you very much sarah for the photo. i really appreciate it.^_^

  2. Pingback: My Relationship with My Sister in a Novel? | Autobiographical Accounts of My Life

Leave a Reply

