PAINT THE TOWN READ: The Lightning Thief at the Empire State Building in New York, New York

IMG_5079

I’m very new to the Percy Jackson fandom, having only read The Lightning Thief in October, probably a week or so before I took this photo (you can read my review here).

We visited the observations decks of the Empire State Building on a Tuesday afternoon. It wasn’t really that crowded on the 86th floor (the larger, outdoor observation deck) but it was cold with the autumn wind blowing up there. The indoor observation deck on the 102nd floor, in the spire itself, was tiny and warm. But, once you’d seen everything from the 86th floor, you were really only gaining height. Everything looked pretty much the same.

I definitely enjoyed the 86th floor more. In between listening to my audio tour, taking pictures, and admiring the city below, I kept sneaking glances at the spire above, just in case I caught a glimpse of Mount Olympus in the clouds.

You can see more Paint the Town Read posts as they’re uploaded on my Instagram account with the hashtag #caapaintthetownread.

Leave a Reply

