PAINT THE TOWN READ: The Lost Symbol at the United States Botanic Garden in Washington, D.C.

IMG_5092

Normally, Warren Bellamy felt nurtured by the Jungle’s earthy smells and the sunlight glinting through the mist that filtered down from the vapour nozzles in the glass ceiling. Tonight, however, lit only by moonlight, the Jungle terrified him.

IMG_5185I was expecting to see a lot of foreign plants in the US Botanic Garden, and I guess I did. They were foreign to America, I mean. The Jungle reminded me a bit of the conservation park next to my house on a summer’s day. I can’t remember what these flowers actually are, but from a distance they looked like Cooktown Orchids, which are native to Australia.

The two botanic gardens where I come from (in Brisbane city and at Mount Coot-tha) are sprawling outdoor parks. We don’t need an enclosure to keep tropical plants booming, but the trees that you guys have out in the open would never thrive in the humid climates of Queensland.

You can see more Paint the Town Read posts as they’re uploaded on my Instagram account with the hashtag #caapaintthetownread.

Leave a Reply

