EVENT: Game of Thrones: The Exhibition (Thursday, 3 July 2014)

IMG_5499It’s the end of another year so I’ve been sorting through all the files on my phone and computer. I realised that I’d forgotten to post about a couple of  things that happened this year and I figured I’d share them before 2015 rolls around.

I watched with envy as people in countries all over the world flocked to Game of Thrones: The Exhibition … countries everywhere except Australia. So when HBO decided to add Sydney to the list at the last minute, I booked my flights and headed down to New South Wales for the weekend, despite hearing about the heinous wait times.

I decided to go on a Thursday because people should be at work, right? The lines should be shorter. NOT SO, FRIENDS. My mum and I got to the Museum of Contemporary Art (where the exhibition was being housed) long before it was due to open and lined up. After some confusing and contradictory instructions from various security guards, all of whom seemed to think the line started in a different place, it looked like we’d somehow been kicked out of line. Eventually, after explaining what had happened to one of the actual people from HBO, we got back in line and the real wait began.

To be totally honest, the Museum of Contemporary Art really weren’t equipped to handle the huge crowds that were drawn to the exhibition. If it comes to Australia again, I really hope they put it on at the Powerhouse Museum, where the Harry Potter exhibition was held a couple of years ago. I would even prefer forking out a whole $10 (or any amount) if it made the line any shorter.

IMG_5497We were in line for two hours before we reached the four-hour wait mark. Still, we were optimistic. My mum stopped a bunch of people from cutting in line several times and was named Protector of the Realm by a bunch of school kids who were in line behind us. When she stepped out of line to go and get us some food, the kids genuinely started panicking and shouting, ‘Forget Winterfell! For JO!’

Basically the whole day was full of waiting:

An hour and a half before getting in the actual line.

Two hours before reaching the four-hour mark.

Three hours to get to the three-hour mark.

IMG_5495Then an hour and a half to rocket past the two-hour mark and arrive at the one-hour point. A while longer to get close to the door.

And then we were in. We made it.

I’m not kidding about those waits, by the way. This is how starved Australia is for free/inexpensive entertainment. After over nine hours, we finally made it inside, saying goodbye to all the people we’d made friends with in the line.

IMG_5498Thankfully, the exhibit was worth the wait. Well, maybe not the whole wait. But I wasn’t disappointed. I took photos of everything in sight—costumes, props, everything.

From memory, a lot of the props were replicas but the detail on the costumes was outstanding. Some of them were against walls so you couldn’t see all the finer details but two of Daenerys’s costumes had a 360 view so you could admire everything from the stitching on the bodice to the drape of the cloaks and cut-outs at the back of costumes.

I took a photo for my friend Nick, who had opted out of coming to Sydney for the exhibition. He was probably feeling pretty awesome about his decision after seeing my Instagram updates on our wait in line but I was still triumphant.

IMG_5493

I ‘ascended’ the Wall in an awesome 4D experience.

IMG_5496

I sat on the Iron Throne.

IMG_5494

And then I wandered around and looked at everything again, taking photos until my phone and camera were going flat and I allowed myself to acknowledge how dead-tired I was. And then it was finally time to leave for the night. It was a long, long day and I’m so thankful that my mum came along to keep me company.

I feel like a good indicator of your relationship with someone comes when they wait in line with you for nine hours for something they’re not super interested in and they don’t call you a dipshit once. I felt pretty loved that day.

Leave a Reply

