BOOK JAR: One year check-in

One year ago, I started my book jar project. I had about 80 unread books that I wanted to get through. I read 12, bought 40, and … I don’t know. I didn’t really keep track properly. But six months ago my count was apparently at 109.

one yearWell, guys, I have turned over a new leaf. Sort of. The new tally (including any books bought/gifted/found while decluttering) is 111.

‘Sarah, that’s still an increase,’ I hear you say.

‘Shut up,’ I say, because 23 of the last 26 books that I’ve read have been from my book jar.

YEAH. TAKE THAT.

So far 2015 has been a pretty good year for me reading-wise. It’s my goal to read 60 books in 2015, and somehow I’ve managed to read 25 by the end of February. I have also RESISTED THE URGE TO BUY MORE BOOKS. Mostly.

So the full list of book jar reads from the last six months comes to:

  1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  2. Bunheads by Sophie Flack
  3. Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts
  4. The Wind Singer by William Nicholson
  5. Slaves of the Mastery by William Nicholson
  6. Firesong by William Nicholson
  7. The Nanny Diaries by Nicola Kraus and Emma McLaughlin
  8. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
  9. Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason by Helen Fielding
  10. Holes by Louis Sachar
  11. Matilda by Roald Dahl
  12. Forrest Gump by Winston Groom
  13. Looking for Alaska by John Green
  14. Ferren and the Angel by Richard Harland
  15. Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver
  16. Changeling by Philippa Gregory
  17. Mister Monday by Garth Nix
  18. Grim Tuesday by Garth Nix
  19. Drowned Wednesday by Garth Nix
  20. Sir Thursday by Garth Nix
  21. Lady Friday by Garth Nix
  22. Superior Saturday by Garth Nix
  23. Lord Sunday by Garth Nix

Hopefully I will continue to power through this year, refrain from buying too many books, and conquer the book jar once and for all! But that is a mammoth effort so let’s not set that in stone. Until my next book jar check-in, you can see what books I’ve been reading here.

Leave a Reply

