BOOK TO FILM: Top 5 adaptations coming in 2015

IMG_5824Every year brings with it new film adaptations. So many awesome books are being being adapted for the screen this year but there are a few that I’m really looking forward to.

All the listed release dates are for Australian cinemas and are according to the Cineplex website. I envy you if you get these movies any sooner. And if you get them any later then I feel your pain, friend.

 

5 March 2015: Seventh Son

Based on The Spook’s Apprentice by Joseph Delaney (also published as The Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch in America).

seventh sonYoung Thomas is apprenticed to the local Spook to learn to fight evil spirits. His first great challenge comes when the powerful Mother Malkin escapes her confinement while the Spook is away.

Having read The Spook’s Apprentice at the end of February, I’m pumped for this movie. Even though the trailer looks super different to the book, I’m hoping it will still carry Joseph Delaney’s sense of humour and adventure. Australian TV has been airing one trailer on repeat lately, which is not remotely appealing but this one is a whole lot better.

 

19 March 2015: Insurgent

Based on the novel by Veronica Roth.

insurgentBeatrice Prior must confront her inner demons and continue her fight against a powerful alliance which threatens to tear her society apart with the help from others on her side.

Divergent was one of my favourite film adaptations in 2014 and the trailer for Insurgent looks awesome. I know there are a lot of differences but I’m looking forward to rereading this book and seeing the changes for myself. I have a feeling some of them may create some changes for Allegiant, which may just please fans.

 

17 September 2015: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials

Based on the novel by James Dashner.

scorch trialsAfter having escaped the Maze, the Gladers now face a new set of challenges on the open roads of a desolate landscape filled with unimaginable obstacles.

The Maze Runner movie was a great watch, even with all the changes from the book. I guess I’m a sucker for YA dystopian stories in general but I’m eagerly awaiting the trailers and stills for this movie.

 

1 October 2015: Victor Frankenstein

Based on Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

victor frankensteinTold from Igor’s perspective, we see the troubled young assistant’s dark origins, his redemptive friendship with the young medical student Viktor Von Frankenstein, and become eyewitnesses to the emergence of how Frankenstein became the man—and the legend—we know today.

The story of Frankenstein and his monster has always fascinated me and this new twist on the tale has me really interested. Plus, the cast looks glorious: Daniel Radcliffe, James McAvoy, Jessica Brown Findlay, Andrew Scott, and Mark Gatiss. Holy British awesomeness, Batman.

 

19 November 2015: The Mockingjay Part 2

Based on the novel by Suzanne Collins.

mockingjay 2After being symbolised as the ‘Mockingjay’, Katniss Everdeen and District 13 engage in an all-out revolution against the autocratic Capitol.

Mockingjay Part 1 gave me chills, guys. And The Hunger Games movies in general have been some of the most faithful and explorative film adaptations of recent years. I am probably going to be a puddle of tears by the time this movie is over.

 

Just writing this has got me excited all over again for these movies! I’ll be doing book to film comparisons on all of these and more, which you’ll be able to check out here. What book adaptations are you looking forward to in 2015?

One thought on “BOOK TO FILM: Top 5 adaptations coming in 2015

  1. I can’t wait for Victor Frankenstein! British awesomeness indeed. I just can’t resist Mr Radcliffe 🙂
    I really enjoyed Divergent and I can’t wait for the continuation, even though I haven’t read the books. I must admit that Maze Runner wasn’t my cup of tea. I just couldn’t buy it for some reason. Maybe I’m just getting old…

Leave a Reply

