PAINT THE TOWN READ: Saving Francesca at Bar Italia in Leichhardt, New South Wales

IMG_6045

Now that I know Sydney better, I love visiting all the places in Melina Marchetta’s books. Yesterday, my mum, sister, and I visited Bar Italia in Leichhardt and indulged in some gelato. I couldn’t resist grabbing an S biscuit as well, since they play such a big role in Saving Francesca.

IMG_6046If you want to visit Bar Italia, you’ll find it on 169-171 Norton Street, Leichhardt. The hazelnut gelato tastes like a Ferrero Rocher and the S biscuits are full of lemony goodness.

You can see more Paint the Town Read posts on my Instagram account with the hashtag #caapaintthetownread.

2 thoughts on “PAINT THE TOWN READ: Saving Francesca at Bar Italia in Leichhardt, New South Wales

  1. I read ‘Looking for Alibrandi’ when I was at school and a few years later loved the movie. But I never had touched another Melina Marchetta novel until I saw your pile of books in this blog the other day, and I put Saving Francesca onto my Kindle. Well … I devoured it in a day and enjoyed it very much. Perhaps I will head up to Sydney one day to Bar Italia myself.
    🙂

    • That makes me so happy! I love Saving Francesca and I’m glad you enjoyed it as well 🙂 We didn’t realise until we stepped inside that it was the same place my Zio Angelo used to take my parents for gelato back in the 80s! It’s such a cosy place filled with life and laughter.

Leave a Reply

