BOOK REVIEW: Partials (Partials Sequence #1) by Dan Wells

This review does not contain spoilers.

IMG_6299Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponised virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island.

But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war’s origin that she never knew to ask.

These days there’s no shortage of dystopian and post-apocalyptic novels but a lot of them tend to skip over the finer details of their societal structure. Partials has all of those finer details and I find it fascinating.

It’s no secret that I didn’t take science after ninth grade but I have been reliably informed that a large part of the information in Partials is plausible. And the protagonist, Kira Walker, is right in the thick of it as she’s studying medicine. The weaponised virus is not some vague catalyst: as we read, we get to learn about it and how Kira is working to cure it.

I get that all the science might not be everyone’s cup of tea so if you like a bit of action thrown in then you’re in luck. We’ve got recon missions, undercover missions, unauthorised missions, staged riots, and up close and personal struggles.

You want a bit of romance? No problem, guys. Coming right up.

And if you like some questions of morality then guess what? There’s heaps of that as well!

Do you happen to enjoy reading about dystopian/post-apocalyptic futures set in places you can actually visit? Get your butt to Long Island, my friend, because that is where most of this goes down. (And also take pictures if you get there before me.)

You want a strong female protagonist? Done.

What’s that? You want racial diversity too? Well, Dan Wells is a genie so your wish is granted.

Did I just basically set out my wish list for YA novels and have it totally and completely granted by this book? Heck yeah, I did. I could waffle about Partials for ages but I feel like I enjoyed it so much because I didn’t know where the plot was heading. So I’m not going to talk in depth about anything: I want you guys to enjoy the ride.

 

The verdict

It’s been weeks since I finished reading Partials and I am still so pumped about it. You have no idea how close I am to ignoring my mountain of unread books so I can finish reading this series. As much as I adore it, I know it won’t satisfy everyone but please do yourself a favour and give this book a chance. If you end up loving it then you are so welcome.

 

Goodreads | Book Depository

Leave a Reply

