BOOK REVIEW: Circle of Flight (The Ellie Chronicles #3) by John Marsden

This review contains spoilers.

IMG_6296It is a time of profound change for Ellie Linton. Enemies are everywhere. Some come crawling over the hills; others drive in and knock on the front door. Sometimes her friends are there and sometimes they are not. Ellie fights every inch of the way. But when courage and imagination are not enough, when she is trapped and helpless, Ellie must face the end of life as she knows it … standing alone, sustained only by her own strength.

Okay. No. Just no. This book took me ages to finish and it was mostly because I wanted to punch Ellie in the face. It starts off quite interesting: the first chapter is written in second person, making the action more intimate and engaging. Gavin has been kidnapped. WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?

Well, who freaking knows because then the book jumps back in time and back into Ellie’s regular first person voice. I don’t remember how much time is spent rehashing everything that’s happened since the end of Incurable. Long enough that I got sick of it and actually forgot that Gavin had been kidnapped in the first place. Not a promising start.

Ellie goes on and on about wanting to get Gavin back (understandable). She has an opportunity to assume a fake ID and go across the border to save him (joy!). But then, when she has to spend some time learning about her ID so she doesn’t get herself killed—and Gavin, by extension, she thinks her time is better spent acting like a petulant baby and PICKING LINT OUT OF HER BOYFRIEND’S BELLY BUTTON. I shit you not. I threw my book on the floor.

Ellie’s gone from having Jeremy as an acquaintance to a vague romantic interest to deciding she’s in love with him. And I cannot for the life of me understand why because Jeremy has as much personality as a broken toaster. So I’m not remotely interested in him or his belly button lint. Sorry, not sorry.

The second half of the book involves a fair bit of court proceedings, which annoyed me to no end. I have to be lenient considering the courts would have changed after the war. But, having worked as a typist for the courts for nearly two years, my mind kept getting stuck on the way proceedings were carried out. (And also the way transcripts were typed but that probably won’t bother the vast majority of people.)

 

The verdict

I desperately wanted to like these books. I kept thinking, ‘They’ll get better. Surely there’s some more of the Tomorrow magic in here.’ But there just wasn’t. Ellie rubs me the wrong way and, though there are a few bright sparks in each book, sadly, I can’t bring myself to be any more than apathetic about the trilogy as a whole.

 

Goodreads | Book Depository

Leave a Reply

