GEEK CHIC: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

IMG_6840To Kill a Mockingbird was first published on 11 July 1960. 55 years later, I’m discovering it for the first time. I don’t know why I’ve put this off for so long because I am quickly falling in love with this book and Scout’s magical narrative voice.

When I mentioned never having read To Kill a Mockingbird, both my parents were horrified and demanded I read it immediately. The first time I saw this Vintage Classics cover, I muttered ‘What the frick is that?’ Three bookstores later, I finally noticed the bird hiding in plain sight and decided it was my favourite cover after all.

I’m so excited about this book and I wanted to put together a bookish outfit to match. Having seen snippets of the 1962 movie over the years, I automatically associate To Kill a Mockingbird with plaid and denim. Lots of plaid and denim. I topped it off with an old necklace I found in my wardrobe. You can just see it peeking out from my collar—a little wooden bird perched on a branch.

 

High waisted jeans: Jay Jays | Plaid shirt: Kmart 

 

Leave a Reply

