LITERARY LOCATION: The Little Bookroom on Nicholson Street in Carlton North, Victoria

I thought I had finished all my Melbourne literary locations but how could I forget THE LITTLE BOOKROOM?!

IMG_6680

Named for a collection of short stories by Eleanor Farjeon, The Little Bookroom is kind of a big deal. Why? Because it was Australia’s first ever bookstore dedicated solely to children’s books.

IMG_6676

And no, I don’t just mean picture books, although the range in the above picture is pretty rad. The Little Bookroom also caters to an older audience with an impressive and enviable amount of YA books on their shelves.

IMG_6678

I never get tired of these Puffin Classics covers. Looking for Alibrandi is so perfect I can’t even handle it.

IMG_6672

Who wants FAIRY TALES? Everyone. Everyone wants fairy tales. And basically everyone will want them in a gorgeous edition like this.

IMG_6673

Or maybe the Penguin Clothbound Classics designed by Coralie Bickford-Smith are more to your liking? You’re never too young or too old to start reading some classics. Notice how I added the ‘too old’ part because I haven’t read most of the books in this photo? Don’t judge me, tiny brilliant child readers.

IMG_6674

But I have read The Hobbit. And, even though I already have multiple editions, one day I will own this clothbound HarperCollins Collector’s Edition and I will stare at it lovingly forever.

IMG_6675

Growing up, my sister and I were obsessed with Nancy Drew and we had these kinds of covers. I still love them, especially because Nancy manages to look so chill in the face of a tornado. This was the first time I had seen these awesome new covers and I want them in my life.

IMG_6677

You’re probably worn out after looking at all these beautiful books and trying to figure out how many you can afford before filing for bankruptcy. If you actually have children, maybe the children are all tuckered out too. But not to worry, because The Little Bookroom has these cosy miniature couches for you to catch your breath before returning to reality.

IMG_6671

The Little Bookroom hosts various events and has an all-round amazing atmosphere. I may want to live on those tiny couches and never leave but I think people would frown on that.

Leave a Reply

