UNBOXING: The Bookish Box: Deep Reads

If you don’t follow me on Instagram you may not know about some really exciting news! Back in August, I was selected to be one of the new reps for Appraising Pages! This is an incredible opportunity for me and I was so shocked and thrilled when I found out I’d been selected.

Part of being a rep is getting to experience their products so that I can show you guys how amazing this shop is. Not that that’s hard. Take one look and fall in love.  Also, any of my followers can get 15% off anything in the Appraising Pages shop by using the code SARAH at the checkout so you should get right on that.

And now for the really awesome part: I got my first product yesterday! It’s the September Bookish Box!

The Bookish Box is a monthly themed subscription box that includes a shirt by Appraising Pages (exclusive to the particular Bookish Box) and three to five feminine home, beauty, and fashion items which may be contributed by other shops.

The September Bookish Box’s theme was Deep Reads, and it was curated by Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places. I have yet to read All the Bright Places but I have heard so many amazing things about it and now I’m even more keen to get my hands on a copy.

The first thing I pulled out was this All the Bright Places-inspired mug by A Bird in the Hand. It is ADORABLE. I am not a big coffee or tea drinker but there are so many times when just looking at a mug makes me want to change that. This is one of those times. But you can totally drink water out of a mug, right? RIGHT. Oh my gosh, or hot chocolate. So this is definitely getting used.

Next up is this gorgeous wall print from Cargo Collective, which is inspired by Jonathan Safran Foer’s Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. I cannot wait to get this framed and on display.

The Soapie Shoppe’s  bath bomb smells AMAZING. It’s inspired Jandy Nelson’s The Sky is Everywhere and oh my GOSH I never want to use it because I want to smell it forever. (I will use it, though.) When The Bookish Box arrived, my mum came and set it down on my bed. Still mostly asleep, I assumed it was a dream and buried my face in the pillow again. But the smell from this bath bomb crept into my dreams and I woke up wanting to stuff my face with Turkish delight.

This bookmark is from A Bookish Babe, whose chalkboard products you can also find  in the Appraising Pages shop. I love, love, love this quote from We Were Liars by E. Lockhart and I love adding new bookmarks to my collection.

Who thinks The Geeky Cauldron is the best name for a shop ever?  Because I sure as heck do. I’ve been stalking their Instagram for a while and these earrings, which are inspired by this cover of John Green’s Looking for Alaska, make me want to wear sundresses and run through a field somewhere. If you’ve never read Looking for Alaska then you would know that that is in stark contrast to the content but I can’t HELP IT. Daisies are one of my favourite flowers, man.

Last but not least is this shirt by Appraising Pages, with a stunning quote from All the Bright Places. I got a size small in my box, which is quite constricting around the bust (and therefore the back and shoulders) so I might have to go for a large next time for a more comfortable fit. Honestly, my breasts take one look at tight shirts and laugh me out of town, demanding freedom and space. My genes are frustrating that way.

But the colour of this shirt is even more beautiful in person and I can just squeeze into it so as soon as I can get my hands on a copy of All the Bright Places I’m donning this for a geek chic post for sure.

I heard praise for The Bookish Box long before I realised that it was part of Appraising Pages. And now that I’ve experienced this haul for myself I can see that it’s totally worthy of all the buzz!

You can subscribe to The Bookish Box starting from $29.99 USD a month, and you can add plenty of extras to customise each box. Subscriptions for October have now closed, but the November Box’s theme is Fantasy Reads! Fantasy is my jam and I am beyond excited for that.

Don’t forget, if you use the code SARAH you’ll receive 15% off anything in the Appraising Pages shop!

6 thoughts on “UNBOXING: The Bookish Box: Deep Reads

  1. I love the idea of the bookish box, but sometimes I wonder if it is worth the money. Since I am most interested in the shirts,mugs and only a few of the item they send each month. What do you think?

    • I suppose it would depend on how much value you personally place on those items. A lot of them are exclusive to The Bookish Box and won’t be available for purchase separately; putting a limit on quantity might make the items much more valuable in the eyes of some people. Not knowing exactly what’s in the box beforehand makes it a bit of a lucky dip but there’s a whole range of subscription boxes available from different places around the world so I’m sure you could find something that totally suits your tastes.

Leave a Reply

