Banned Books Week 2015

From 27 September to 3 October, the U.S. is celebrating Banned Books Week. Australia doesn’t really seem to have its own Banned Books celebration or anything so I’m just going to go ahead and jump on the bandwagon here. The majority of my books are currently in storage but these are the ones I had on hand.

On the top table, we have some of my all-time favourites:

  • the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
  • The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins
  • The Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

These are books I’ve read and fallen in love with. I find it kind of funny that so many of my favourite books have been banned for various reasons but they all have quite incredible messages for the readers.

On the bottom table, we have some classic stories that I love and some books I’ve never gotten around to reading:

  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  • Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift
  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • The Colour Purple by Alice Walker
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

Banned Books Week has made me even more keen to read and reread some of these banned or challenged books. Banning a book seems to make me want to read it even more so looks like that system just totally backfired on everyone.

What are some of your favourite banned or challenged books?

Leave a Reply

