LITERARY LOCATION: Riverbend Books on Oxford Street in Bulimba, Queensland

Oxford Street is lined with cute little cafés, so I’m honestly not that surprised that I didn’t notice there was a sneaky bookstore nestled in there somewhere. I mean, if you’re just driving past this looks like it could be just another café, right?

Well, if you catch sight of the giant orange sign on the side street then you might be clued in. I missed that sign I don’t know how many times on my way to the movies.

Okay, look, there are a bunch of signs and I’m blind so everyone shut up. The POINT IS that I found another awesome independent bookstore.

They’ve even been named Australian Independent Bookshop of the Year two years running! With such fierce competition in this country, that’s an incredible achievement.

My dad is the one obsessed with adult colouring books at the moment. Still, I can’t help but be drawn in whenever I see some on display.

Colouring is all sorted for the kids as well! This is more my style, to be honest. I rarely have the attention span for the adult colouring books.

With Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland celebrating its 150th anniversary of publication in November this year, it’s no wonder all these beautiful copies were getting pride of place.

This one has my heart. I still can’t stop staring at it.

This YA section is awesome. With a spread of local and international authors I was spoilt for choice. I ended up with the rest of Paula Weston’s The Rephaim series, including a signed copy of Burn. The first book, Shadows is one of my favourite Australian reads this year so I’m super keen to continue with the series.

Even Bilbo was loving the YA section.

World Cloud Classics galore! I would please like every single one of them.

I’m not going to say no to any of these either.  I’m not a big classics reader but they’re so pretty!

Riverbend Books always has some event in the works, which you can check out on their website. I’m definitely going to be visiting Riverbend more often. The staff are lovely, the store is beautiful, and I could get lost in here for hours. Plus there’s the café outside. Food and books? I’m there.

Leave a Reply

