PHOTO CHALLENGE: October 13: “H”

ILLUSTRATED. HARRY. POTTER. I can’t even deal, guys. I had totally forgotten that this was coming out until I started seeing pictures of it all over Instagram and Tumblr, and then I saw it in person and it was beautiful. I got a little teary in the bookshop and one of the workers actually asked me if I was okay. Turns out she’d gotten a little teary over it the day before.

Since I’d already bought four books that day I was trying to be reasonable and wait to purchase it. Maybe put it on my Christmas list. I told my dad my plan and he looked at me like I was crazy. ‘If you love it so much that you cried over it then you should buy it,’ he said. When you put it like that, it sounds like a far more reasonable plan than the one I came up with.

These are some of my favourite illustrations:

It’s incredible that some kids are going to grow up with this as their introduction to J.K. Rowling’s work. I love that that’s possible but, as always, I find myself wishing that I could discover the magic for the first time all over again. But I guess a reread of Philosopher’s Stone in this edition will have to do for now!

 

See the rest of the photo challenge prompts here!

One thought on “PHOTO CHALLENGE: October 13: “H”

Leave a Reply

