BOOK REVIEW: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas

This review contains mild spoilers.

Meet Celaena Sardothien. Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Won or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

 

I’m in two minds about Throne of Glass. It took me a while to feel comfortable with Celaena and her mannerisms. Part of the time she was awesome and a total badass, and part of the time I just really wanted her to shut up.

At one point she tossed her hair back haughtily so many times I thought she was going to get whiplash.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Celaena’s more feminine traits; my issue is more to do with her pride. Celaena is an accomplished assassin and stealth is a large part of that. So it really bugged me when she kept complaining about lying low during the competition and not being able to show off. Everyone is going to underestimate a female’s physical strength anyway so it can’t be a foreign concept to her to play on people’s expectations.

Strangely, it was situations in which Celaena didn’t have any opportunity to show off that she really seemed to shine. Those were the times when I could most identify with her and get lost in the story. I think it’s fantastic that Sarah J. Maas addressed how Celaena’s body changed while she was in Endovier, especially the lack of menstrual cycles due to malnourishment. The slow return to normal appetite and exercise regime struck me as realistic and well-handled.

I really don’t feel any connection to Celaena’s romantic interest in this book. But, considering there are other relationships already being hinted at, it may be that I just haven’t found the right pairing yet.

Honestly, I’m surprised that more of this book hasn’t been spoiled for me by the internet. I knew about minor details (like the shipping wars surrounding Celaena’s suitors) but for the most part I was able to enjoy this novel freely. While the competition part did get a bit repetitive, the plot surrounding the more supernatural elements really attracted my attention and I’m excited to see this explored in later books.
The verdict

Throne of Glass was a good start to the series but it didn’t blow my mind like I expected after all the hype. Still, I was definitely enjoying it more towards the end and I’m excited to see how the story develops.

I rate it ★★★★

 


buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Leave a Reply

