GEEK CHIC: October buys

The 2nd of October marked my 24th birthday and I got some really excellent geek chic items. So while I didn’t actually buy many of these things myself, I’m not going to pass up an opportunity to share them with you.

First up is my Professional Bookworm shirt from Bookworm Boutique! I have had my eye on this store for ages but in a quite incredible display of self-control, I waited to put a bunch of items on my birthday list. I ordered a large and it fits me perfectly. I hate wearing shirts that are too snug so this gives me enough room to move and be comfortable without looking like a sack.

This I Read Past My Bedtime pillow is another glorious purchase from Bookworm Boutique. It’s huge and comfortable and it’s going to get pride of place on my bed.

I am in LOVE with this The Library art print. Not only does it look like a Disney castle (which is always awesome), it’s also made out of BOOKS. This was the last of my Bookworm Boutique birthday presents and I can’t wait to move house and set it up with my bookshelves.

This personalised Gallifreyan pendant is DIVINE. Etsy shop kaieldesigns make some fricking fabulous things but this might just take the cake. You can pick from a range of galaxy backgrounds and ask for a word or phrase to be translated into Gallifreyan and appear on your pendant.

Mine says ‘Sarah’ but it could say ‘fart’ for all I care because it’s so beautiful. I’ll never get tired of wearing this.

Technically, I bought this sonic screwdriver in September but here it is anyway. I got this one because it was in the best condition, even though Eleven and Twelve aren’t my favourite Doctors. I think I’m going to have to grab Ten’s sonic screwdriver, since Nine doesn’t have his own for sale. But it lights up and makes sounds so I love it anyway.

You might’ve already seen posts of me in my Black Milk Marauder’s Map leggings, but I loved the pattern so much I asked for it in dress form as well. This is going to be perfect for my trip to England next year and it’s definitely going to get a lot of wear at work.

I GOT A HOBBIT DOOR NECKLACE! So many fandoms collided for my birthday and I love everything about this. Necklaces like this are fast becoming my favourite way to subtly reference a fandom in everyday outfits. Not that I need to worry about that much anymore; my new work isn’t a corporate-wear environment so a lot of my geek chic items are seeing the light of day for the first time in ages.

This book display box was way too beautiful to pass up. It’s from The Mad Hatters Bookshop in Manly, which you might remember from my gushing literary location post a few weeks ago. Designed to look like Pride and Prejudice and A Tale of Two Cities, this box is gorgeous from any angle. I haven’t decided yet whether I want to use it as storage or just as a beautiful addition to my bookshelves.

I went to Target yesterday, looking for a few things to brighten up my work desk, and ended up with a bunch of things to help redecorate my room when we move house. I almost didn’t notice that the canvas print was spelling out supercalifragilisticexpialidocious  when I walked past it the first time. But once I realised what it was, I had to have it.

The text quilt cover is going to look fricking awesome with my I Read Past My Bedtime pillow.

And I still haven’t decided whether this pencil-shaped pencil holder is going to grace my desk at work or home but I’m still loving it.

Next month is going to be filled with heaps of geek chic purchases, since Black Milk’s Doctor Who collection launched this week and I am powerless against the draw of nylon and the Doctor. SUPER EXCITED, GUYS.

3 thoughts on “GEEK CHIC: October buys

    • You’re welcome! I’m totally in love with all your products! Wore my Professional Bookworm shirt to a HarperCollins event last night and one of the hosts had that design as her phone case! Everyone’s loving your designs!

      • Aw, thank you so much! I was following that even on Twitter and a couple of the people attending ending up following me, it’s all pretty exciting!

Leave a Reply

