EVENT: Between the Covers YA, HarperCollins

IMG_3247

I’ve been meaning to do this post for AGES. Well, about a month. I had heard about publisher events and was deeply envious of everyone who had ever attended one of these glorious occurrences.

Then, one day, I was scrolling through Instagram and I noticed a post by HarperCollinsYA advertising a Brisbane Between the Covers event. Of course, I jumped at the chance and sent off an RSVP immediately.  And on the 5th of November, I headed to the State Library of Queensland for my first ever publisher event!

With book blogger friends old and new, I had an amazing night! Our wonderful hosts, Tim and Manda, kept us entertained the whole way through with infectious book love and laughter. Gabrielle Tozer, Brisbane’s author guest, was a brilliant public speaker. Her charisma and obvious love for her work had me rushing out the door to buy The Intern so I could rush back in and get it signed.

And, of course, there were GOODY BAGS filled with bookish delights!

The first thing I saw was Demon Road by Derek Landy. I’ve seen so many people loving this book all over social media; the weekend before I had very seriously considered buying a copy for myself so I was thrilled to find it in my tote bag.

The goody bag also contained an ARC of Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club. I had heard the name before but when Tim and Manda said it would be a good fit for lovers of The Infernal Devices, I was sold. I’m super excited to read this book and get my regency steampunk on again. Plus, this handy booklet from the goody bag has basically listed the books I need to buy in 2016 to make my life easier. There are so many awesome books coming our way!

While this poster was part of the goody bag, I got my hands on this book by chance! After correctly answering a trivia question, I had a go at the lucky dip and came up with this beauty! It was instant cover love. Now I just need to get the first one and dive into this beautiful world.

The HarperCollins BTCYA event was amazing and totally lived up to everything I’d heard about publisher events. By the time it was over, I was already looking forward to the next one!

One thought on “EVENT: Between the Covers YA, HarperCollins

Leave a Reply

