Join me for my July book photo challenge!

AmpersandJuly16 Challenge

Welcome to my July photo challenge! Join me on Instagram for a fun month of book photography, or play along here on WordPress or on Tumblr. And if you’re not on any of those platforms then you can follow along on Bloglovin’!

Want to know more about the prompts? Everything is explained here. Just remember, these explanations are for inspiration or guidance. You can interpret any of the prompts however you choose.

  1. Halfway: Welcome to the second half of the year! It’s going fast so I’ll be using this time to revisit my reading goals and pretending I’m not hopelessly behind on my Goodreads challenge.
  2. Secrets: It’s the 18th anniversary of the Chamber of Secrets publication! There’ll be a few of these Harry Potter-themed prompts but they’re broad enough that you can choose a different way of looking at thing if you’re not a Harry Potter fan.
  3. Snack: Do you like to snack when reading? Do you like to snack in general?  Let us know about your favourite snack!
  4. Free: While USA celebrates Independence Day, the rest of us can celebrate whatever the heck we want! Focus on a free book or just use this day as a freebie to take a photo of anything you like.
  5. Illustration: You know what’s up. Choose your favourite bookish illustration.
  6. Pyjamas: We’re halfway through the week and the desire to stay at home and curl up with a good book is strong. Take a picture with your PJs so I’m not the only one crying for my bed.
  7. Ribbon: Actual ribbon or ribbon on a front cover—or however you want to interpret this one!
  8. Favourite: On this day in 1999 and 2000, Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire were published respectively. Pick your favourite! Or choose another favourite book to show off.
  9. Fell Asleep Here: We’re all guilty of it.  No matter how much we love a book, sometimes we just can’t keep our eyes open. Let us know about the last time you fell asleep while reading.
  10. Ombré: Start with a book in a solid colour and fade out. Google ‘ombré hair’ if you need a visual example.
  11. Hit: What was the last amazing book you read? Or one you just want an excuse to talk about.
  12. Miss: A book that just didn’t do it for you.
  13. Ebook: Are you a lover of ebooks? Show off your ereader. Or, if you don’t read ebooks, talk about your favourite physical format.
  14. Fantasy: Some of your favourite fantasy books.
  15. Name: What’s in a name? (A lot.) What’s your favourite bookish name?
  16. Memories: Celebrating the publication of Half-Blood Prince, use this prompt to dwell on personal memories or memorable stories.
  17. Non-Fiction: I have to admit, I’m not a big non-fiction reader so this will be a challenge for me!
  18. Grey: There’s something soothing about grey books but they’re definitely not my go-to for a book colour picture. Now I’m taking the opportunity to show them off!
  19. Sunset: Whether’s it’s on or in a book, or you happen to snap a picture of a fantastic sunset, let the prettiness reign.
  20. Never: A book you’ve never read, or one that you never plan to read.
  21. Always: Celebrating the publication of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, y’all can get sappy about your Snape feels while I once again show off my constant love for the Harry Potter series.
  22. Self-Published: You might be surprised to find out which of your favourite books started out as a self-publishing venture!
  23. Geek Chic: Any excuse to show off your bookish outfits or accessories!
  24. Stairs: I probably didn’t think this prompt through because I no longer have stairs in my house since I moved but OH WELL.
  25. Awards: Actual awards, imaginary awards that you made up—crown your faves.
  26. Makeup: Nail polish counts too!
  27. I Need More: Have you ever finished a book and just wailed because you wanted more immediately? Yeah. That.
  28. Reread: A book you want to reread (or are currently rereading).
  29. So Far: An incomplete collection of books, or the page you’re up to in your current read.
  30. Paperback: Happy Paperback Book Day! Show those books some love.
  31. Wrap-up: What books did you read this month?

There we have it! I hope you can join me for the #AmpersandJuly16 challenge! Let me know that you’re participating by commenting/reblogging so I can check out your photos!

Leave a Reply

