History Repeating: A review of The Sixth Event

History Repeating: A review of The Sixth Event

I read The Sixth Event on my Kindle while travelling through Italy, and more than once I was reluctant to leave my hotel room because I had to know what happened next.

Basically, the world ends. And our protagonist, Raquel, wakes up two years in the past. She believes she’s the only one who remembers the world ending, until she slowly begins to discover a select group of people who know the truth. We travel with Raquel through various historical events to figure out how exactly the world ended and what can be done to prevent it from happening for real.

The book is not perfect—there are a few mix-ups with homophones, some general formatting issues and I’m not entirely sure I was satisfied with the ending—but I found it hard to dwell on these things when I was so driven to find out what happened next.

The Sixth Event was like a learning experience. There’s so much about our world that I don’t understand or that I’ve never even heard of. I had to keep looking things up to see if the author was just making everything up but she wasn’t, and I learnt something new every single time.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick and engrossing apocalyptic read. The characters are well-formed, the concept is interesting and the slow-burn discoveries will swallow you whole. All in all, a promising debut novel.

Rating: ★½

I was provided with a copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Leave a Reply

