This Adventure Ends: A Review

This Adventure Ends: A Review

Please be aware that this review contains some mild spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

Every so often, I find myself wondering whether I’m a plot person or a character person. And then books like This Adventure Ends remind me that I’ll choose great characters time after time.

The plot of This Adventure Ends is pretty simple: girl starts at a new school, makes friends, deals with problems with said friends and family. But the characters that Emma Mills created turned a run-of-the-mill novel into something extraordinary.

I found myself caring about every single person in the book – even the ones who only appeared for a scene or two. I cared when they were at their most likeable and funny, and I still cared when they were being stupid or annoying.

This Adventure Ends: A Review

If you’re familiar with (or a slave to) social media and pop culture, it’ll be very easy for you to relate with some of the characters and their hobbies. There’s reference to everything from Teen Wolf and Nicholas Sparks-esque novels to fanfiction and the role of social media celebrity.

While some people might see this foothold in pop culture as a dull marker of this generation, I found it to be a relatable, realistic and incredibly comfortable story.

This Adventure Ends: A Review

I laughed out loud and even found myself tearing up, which I was not expecting at all when I first started reading. This Adventure Ends is one of those books that came into my life exactly when I needed it, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a fun, well-rounded contemporary read.

Rating: ★★★

I was provided with a copy of this book by Pan Macmillan Australia in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

4 thoughts on “This Adventure Ends: A Review

  1. This cover is just so amazing, the texture looks so real! I hadn’t actually heard of this before, but your review has made me interested in checking it out. I’m definitely a character person, so I have a feeling I’m going to enjoy this too.

Leave a Reply

