My never-ending obsession: A Court of Thorns and Roses review

A Court of Thorns and Roses and My Broken Heart: A Review

Please be aware that this review contains some mild spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

I started rereading A Court of Thorns and Roses in preparation for the release of A Court of Wings and Ruin—the third book in the series. I still don’t even know how to describe my feelings about this Beauty and the Beast retelling but I’m going to try.

Truly, this book is gorgeous to me. I know a lot of people complain about how slow it is to start and I do agree with that comment. But both times I’ve read it, I’m completely swept up in the storyeven the slower parts.

A Court of Thorns and Roses and My Broken Heart: A Review

I think my only actual complaint about the novel is Feyre’s repetitive train of thoughts surrounding her family while she’s at the Spring Court. I know she misses her family and feels guilty about having to leave them, but she dwells on the same memories over and over again (most of which we’ve already seen in action), which doesn’t give me a deep understanding or knowledge of the other good and bad aspects of her life.

The climax of this book and the last 100 or so pages are phenomenal. Even knowing what was about to happen, I was tense and anxious. And even knowing what would happen in the second book, I couldn’t bring myself to wish that events had played out any differently.

A Court of Thorns and Roses and My Broken Heart: A Review

If you even remotely enjoyed A Court of Thorns and Roses, I definitely recommend a reread. There’s so much rich detail cleverly laced into the story that you’d never pick up without prior knowledge of the story.

I love this book. I’m knocking off half a star just for the repetition and slow start, but this reread has me so excited to be returning to the world of Prythian again.

Rating: ★★★★½

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Leave a Reply

