The Medoran Chronicles continue: Raelia review

The Medoran Chronicles continue: Raelia review

Please be aware that this review contains some mild spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

I put off reading Raelia for a good long while, because I was worried I’d forgotten a bit too much about Akarnae to dive right in. When I binge-read the first three books this year, I seriously regretted my decision.

Raelia is a fantastic follow-up to Lynette Noni’s debut novel. The slow expository start of Akarnae was replaced by an effective cold start that drew readers in effectively and captured their attention right from the get-go.

While there are still a few instances of clunky description, the overall flow of the book is so much smoother and more inviting. The plot explored basically everything that was hinted at in Akarnae, making for a rich and exciting story.

The Medoran Chronicles continue: Raelia review

I would have maybe liked to know a little more about Alex’s parents, who (we find this out very early on so I don’t consider it a spoiler) came to live in Medora. The fact that they reside in the Library is a convenient way to minimise the issue of Alex missing her family and them worrying about where she disappears to, but they’re still barely present.

I’m hoping that future books will allow Alex’s parents to play a slightly bigger part so we can learn more about Alex’s life before Medora.

The Medoran Chronicles continue: Raelia review

With a brutal cliffhanger ending, Raelia has transformed this series from a cheerful fantasy into something that’s getting increasingly darker and more fascinating. I cannot wait to read more in this series.

Rating: ★★★★

I was provided with a copy of this book by Pantera Press in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 

Leave a Reply

