Take me back to the start: Draekora review

Take me back to the start: Draekora review

Please be aware that this review contains some mild spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

You know what? Lynette Noni needs to calm the heck down. She went from upbeat fantasy to intriguing and dark to something that just punched me in the face and I was 112% not ready for it.

How do I talk about this book without spoiling literally everything about it? I don’t know if I can, so I’ll just say this: I realised partway through this book that Lynette Noni could take this story anywhere and I would follow along, content to watch it unfold.

Take me back to the start: Draekora review

A bold move saw Draekora take a step back from the plot that unfolded in Raelia and go in a completely different direction. At first, I thought this might be the series’ undoing. I thought I would be itching to get back to the Raelia plot. I thought I would struggle to accept this new plot.

Wrong, wrong, wrong.

By the end of the book, I was actually counting pages and wondering how everything could possibly wrap up in the time left. I read the last few pages again and again, sure I’d missed something because it couldn’t be happening this way. But no. Another cliffhanger,  and after the roller-coaster ride I’d just been on, I was in physical pain.

Take me back to the start: Draekora review

I don’t know how else to explain this: I feel really privileged to be witnessing this series come to life. The writing and storytelling was promising to begin with, and it has improved massively with each book.

Without a doubt, The Medoran Chronicles has become one of my favourite fantasy series by an Australian author. I can’t wait to see where this goes.

Rating: ★★★★½

Leave a Reply

