Love is sweeter the second time around: A Court of Mist and Fury review

Love is sweeter the second time around: A Court of Mist and Fury review

Please be aware that this review contains some mild spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

I cannot even deal with the world of Prythian. A Court of Mist and Fury might just be my favourite second book of ANY series EVER.

Okay, maybe that’s not the biggest compliment in the world. I’ve read a lot of series that had a total letdown of a second book. But this. This. 

I’ve probably mentioned before that if I love a character enough, I will follow them anywhere. Time travel. Cheesy plots. Ridiculous relationships. To the ends of the earth. That is how I feel about the characters in A Court of Mist and Fury. I was already pretty much in love with them from the get-go but this just took me over the edge.

I’ll attempt to stop babbling about my love for a second to tell you why I enjoyed this book so much. One of the main reasons is that the characters are broken. They all went through absolute hell Under the Mountain, and while their land is healing, they have been basically ripped apart mentally and emotionally.

And it’s incredible. This isn’t just a few chapters of guilt or hurt or nightmares. This is full-on post-traumatic stress and that is so freaking important for readers to understand.

Love is sweeter the second time around: A Court of Mist and Fury review

I’m also completely in love with the Night Court. The descriptions, the characters, the dynamics… all of it is so painfully beautiful I want to live there immediately. It’s nothing like what you expect and better than you could imagine.

And for sexual tension and fulfillment, I give this novel an A+. I’ve read so many books where young girls (or even women) are awkward and embarrassed about admitting that they have needs or desires, while the male characters are completely at ease with it. This happens in real life as well, obviously, and it’s frustrating to see and experience.

I mean, yeah, the sex scenes in A Court of Mist and Fury were great but I think what I love most is that Feyre is never ashamed of what she wants. She might be confused about who she wants, but the fact that she enjoys sex, enjoys giving and receiving pleasure, and enjoys talking and teasing about it is something that’s really important to me as a reader.

Love is sweeter the second time around: A Court of Mist and Fury review

And the cliffhanger ending? Just slay me already. Even during my reread, when I knew what was about to happen, I felt everything hit me like a blow to the gut.

To me, A Court of Mist and Fury is Sarah J. Maas’s greatest work yet and I’d happily return to this book again and again.

Rating: ★★★★★

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Leave a Reply

