The waiting’s not the hardest part: A Court of Wings and Ruin review

The waiting's not the hardest part: A Court of Wings and Ruin review

Please be aware that this review contains some some strong spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

I have been waiting a whole year for A Court of Wings and Ruin to be in my hands. And when I finally had it, I wasn’t ready.

No, literally. I was still partway through my reread of A Court of Mist and Fury. 

When I was ready, I tried to devour this book slowly but that turned out to be a useless tactic. I finished it in a day.

My initial reaction was to give it five stars, just because I was so happy to have the book in my hands. But after some rest and reflection, I’m not sure it warrants that rating. because it’s not quite as good as A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Thorns and Roses.

I wanted it to be. And some of the book did shine. I loved Feyre’s underhanded plotting in the Spring Court, and how every move she made was to her advantage. I loved the politics of the book, and seeing the other High Lords finally come together in one room for a verbal showdown with egregious amount of sassy barbs and outright temper tantrums.

I loved the scenes with the Suriel and the Bone Carver. And I freaking loved Nesta with all my heart.

But there were a few things I did not love. And this is where things are about to get REALLY spoilery, so if you haven’t read the book then I suggest backing right up before you scroll past the next picture.

The waiting's not the hardest part: A Court of Wings and Ruin review

To me, Feyre and Rhysand’s relationship has mellowed too much. They had one tiny disagreement towards the start of the book, and that was it. For the rest of it, it was almost like they had become one character, ready to forgive the other for anything and everything in a heartbeat. The friendly banter and coy teasing mostly gave way to sex scenes that weren’t as interesting without the other dynamics of their relationship.

Now, I totally understand that some things have to change after they officially get together, but I missed the edge that both of them had in the previous books.

And the other thing that really didn’t sit well with me was that the main characters were pretty much fine at the end. No physical injuries that couldn’t be healed, and no deaths that couldn’t be undone. To me, that just seemed unrealistic, especially given the risks that they were up against. And the characters who did die were minor enough that I didn’t really have any emotional response to their passing.

I was 100 per cent ready for this book to rip me apart and it just didn’t. It felt too neatly wrapped up, and I find myself wondering if it would have ended differently had there not been plans for another three tie-in novels about various couples.

The waiting's not the hardest part: A Court of Wings and Ruin review

I’ve taken my rating down to four stars because of those two grievances (and a few other minor ones), but I did love the majority of A Court of Wings and Ruin, and the plethora of plot twists had me hooked right until the end.

While I’m not suffering from a total book hangover, I’m not quite ready to let go of the story yet so I’m rereading A Court of Wings and Ruin, and trying to go a bit slower this time. Here’s hoping the companion books will be just as enchanting as this first trilogy!

Rating: ★★★★

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

11 thoughts on “The waiting’s not the hardest part: A Court of Wings and Ruin review

  1. Great review! I was also bored by Rhys and Feyre’s chemistry in this book; it just felt vanilla, and the sex scenes were kind of over the top imo, almost as if they were compensating for the lack of spice their day to day relationship had. And the lack of any death (except for that one character who never even appeared in this book lol) was pretty cliched…someone important SHOULD statistically die if this is such a big war, no? I found the lack of consequence so bland in this book…😤

  2. I had the exact same experience with ACOWAR! I gave it five stars initially, then backed down because, the more I thought about it, the more critiques I had. I agree with all of your criticism–especially with everyone being fine at the end. There were so many moments that felt really contrived and convenient that took the edge off for me. But I definitely still loved the book and am excited to see where Maas takes us next in this world. Great review!

  3. Pingback: Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J.Maas | Brylie and Books

Leave a Reply

