A bit of somethin’-somethin’: Everything, Everything review

A bit of somethin'-somethin': Everything, Everything review

Please be aware that this review contains some mild spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

I’d wanted to read Everything, Everything for a while, and when I heard there was a movie on the horizon, I took the plunge.

This book has a LOT of hype surrounding it, and while it’s tempting to be swept up in the artistic elements and Maddy’s lovely narration, I just couldn’t let myself go completely.

I think a large part of this was because I couldn’t connect with the characters. In an almost painfully short novel, it’s no surprise that the characters don’t see a lot of development. Despite all their ups and downs and everything they learn about themselves, I feel like they’re the same characters at the end of the book as they were at the beginning.

A bit of somethin'-somethin': Everything, Everything review

Everything, Everything was a pleasant read and it did exactly what I expect a lot of contemporary YA novels to do: cleanse my mental palate and let me move onto something with more complex world-building.

But it didn’t rip my heart out or leave me in tears the way everyone told me it would, and the big plot twist was something I took in my stride so easily that it took me a moment to realise the climax of the novel had already happened.

I’m glad I read Everything, Everything and I’m hoping the movie will bring that emotional impact I couldn’t find for myself.

Rating: ★★★

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

4 thoughts on “A bit of somethin’-somethin’: Everything, Everything review

Leave a Reply

