A fairy Aussie story: Valentine review

A fairy Aussie story: Valentine review

Please be aware that this review contains some mild spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

I received Valentine in a box from The YA Chronicles, and the cover was the first thing that had me hooked. It’s just stunning!

I don’t think I read the blurb before I started, and I’m glad of that now, because basically the entire plot is laid bare. Which seems like a weird choice for the publishers to make but okay.

Valentine is an urban fantasy book that, at times, almost manages to slide back into the contemporary genre. It’s fun and chatty, and I actually found myself liking the characters—something I’ve found increasingly unusual for books set in regular high schools.

A fairy Aussie story: Valentine review

I may be forgetting some, but I feel like I’ve only read maybe two or three books with a standard fairy/faerie/magical creepy creature backstory to them. (I’m definitely not including any Sarah J. Maas books in that line-up because they’re a completely different kettle of fish.) Even with my basic knowledge, I saw a lot of the plot twists coming so this story might seem tired for those who’ve read about these creatures extensively.

I think one of the things that really interested me about this book was that it was set in Australia. And we really do not have many fantasy novels in our own country, so I was totally onboard with that.

A fairy Aussie story: Valentine review

Overall, Valentine is a fun, pleasant read. If you love high school drama and friendly, chatty characters, you’ll probably love the narrator. It may have magic in it, but it’s light (and interesting) enough that I’d also recommend it to someone who doesn’t read much fantasy.

Rating: ★★★

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Leave a Reply

