Girt by awesome authors: Begin, End Begin: A #LoveOzYA Anthology review

Girt by awesome authors: Begin, End Begin: A #LoveOzYA Anthology review

Please be aware that this review contains some mild spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

When I found out there was going to be an anthology of short stories by Aussie writers, I screamed a little bit. And when I saw the author line-up, I was even more excited.

But could Begin, End, Begin live up to my expectations?

In short, yes. Yes, it could. From the first story by Amie Kaufman, I was hooked. This is a celebration of Australian voices, so these stories aren’t just set in a bunch of capital cities or rural towns. We travel from Melbourne to Mars and back again, and it’s done in a way that’s enchanting and engaging.

I won’t do a rundown of each story because I demand that you read it for yourself but I will say that the diversity of characters and stories is FANTASTIC.

With such a broad range of sub-genres included, I was surprised to enjoy so many of the stories. Some were, of course, stronger than others but I think that will vary for each reader depending on their personal preferences.

Girt by awesome authors: Begin, End Begin: A #LoveOzYA Anthology review

All in all, this was a brilliant showcase of Australian talent. There were some big names included but, with so many emerging Aussie authors out there, I’m really hoping there will be at least another couple of #LoveOzYA anthologies to look forward to.

I’ll be recommending this to everyone I come across. Go read it. Now.

Rating: ★★★★

I was provided with a copy of this book by the editor, Danielle Binks, in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 

 

Leave a Reply

