I don’t know where my home is: If Birds Fly Back review

I don't know where my home is: If Birds Fly Back review

Please be aware that this review contains some spoilers. Do not continue reading unless you are fine with being spoiled. 

I have to admit, I wasn’t feeling this book at first. The tagline is Love is what happens when you’re looking for something else, so I spent a lot of the first half just waiting for the romance to happen. Or waiting for something else to happen that would lead to romance.

Both main characters have really interesting issues going on, but they were lacking … something. I still can’t quite put my finger on it. Maybe their voices were a little too similar sometimes. Maybe they were busy avoiding their problems and needed to piece themselves back together before they could connect with readers.

Whatever the issue was, halfway through the book, everything changed.

Emotional blow after emotional blow was delivered, the characters finally displayed some of the depth they’d been edging around, and the plot fell into place.

I don't know where my home is: If Birds Fly Back review

There was a comfortable natural progression from complication to resolution and by the end of the book I was thoroughly impressed with the character and plot development.

Once you get past the slow start, If Birds Fly Back is definitely worth your time. I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in a cute YA book with a bit of depth.

Rating: ★★★½

I was provided with a copy of this book by Pan Macmillan Australia in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 

Leave a Reply

