Relationship crash test: The Big Sick review

Relationship crash test: The Big Sick review

I honestly can’t think of the last rom-com I liked as much as The Big Sick. 

This movie, based on the life of lead actor Kumail Nanjiani, has everything I could ask for: fun, well- developed characters, fast-paced and intelligent humour, and problems that aren’t derived from some stupid misunderstanding.

You can tell that a lot of thought has gone into making this movie seem as honest as possible. There are no caricatures or stereotypes, and most of the characters have at least one moment that makes you think, ‘Wow, what an absolute dickhead.’

This is probably one of the most realistic depictions of a modern romantic relationship I’ve seen in film, and that includes others that have been based on true stories.

The only warning I have about The Big Sick is that some cultural references may not be familiar to everyone. While I was laughing my butt off at some of the jokes, the woman next to me in the cinema looked utterly confused more than once and many people in the theatre remained silent.

But all in all, this is a real feel-good movie. It was cute and not in an awkward or cheesy way. I couldn’t stop grinning when I left the cinema, and I’ve been raving about The Big Sick to people ever since.

Leave a Reply

